My Plan v.s. The Reality

My Plan:

My kids will not have any videos, tv or computer exposure until they turn 2.

The Reality:

Lemon Cake started watching 10-15 minute you tube videos when he was about 18 months old (in my defense, I had to cut his nails often because of his eczema and that was the only way I was able to do it frequently and thoroughly). As his baby sister arrived about a year ago around the time he turned two, he started getting 30 minutes to an hour a day. More like an hour+ in the winter time. Lemon cake also skipped lots of naps when he turned two. If I didn’t have videos to help me, I would have lost my sanity.

My Plan:

I will nurse each of my kids until they turn two.

The Reality:

I weaned Lemon Cake at eighteen months when I found out I was pregnant with baby Banana. I am weaning baby Banana who just turned a year. The biting, the nursing in cold weather, the constant latching and unlatching because of distraction, and the need to take care of a three year old boy was draining me more than just milk.

My Plan:

No sugar or added salt.

The Reality:

I was very good about this with Lemon Cake. He did not have his first processed sugar until about eighteen months (my mom let him try some ice cream). I also made sure none of his homemade baby food had salt. Baby Banana had both at around 9 months.

My Plan:

Commit to speaking Chinese (Cantonese) to my kids so they can be bilingual and have amazing brains. Ideally they would learn Mandarin, and we might have to send them to torturous Sunday Chinese schools.

The Reality:

Multiple failed attempts with Lemon Cake. Having some success with baby Banana. It is so hard as I constantly accidentally slip back into English especially in company of English speaking friends (which is all of them, and my husband too).

My Plan:

No sleep training. Period.

The Reality

I did not sleep train Lemon Cake until after he turned one year old. I was waking up every two hours at night to nurse him back to sleep. It took only three days to sleep train him- why didn’t we do it sooner? Many reasons of course. With baby Banana, we started sleep training at nine months. However, it hasn’t been too successful because we share the same room and when she wakes up, she just yells at us (since she can see us) until one of us tend to her. Luckily, she only wakes once on most night which is bearable.

My husband told me that he would not have been able to write much on this topic because he didn’t have such specifics or set ideas ahead of time (talk about personality difference) whereas clearly I did. I am sure some of it also has to do with my background as an educator and interest in child development. On the other hand, I should have known better than to have plans like these.

My future plans for my children (haha) include no ear piercing for baby Banana until she is in 3rd grade, no ear piercing for Lemon Cake EVER, maybe sleep over at very close friends’ homes (I was never allowed to sleep over), no dating until they are sixteen (preferable not until college). I will keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “My Plan v.s. The Reality

  1. Speaking as someone who has had multiple piercings and tattoos, I can tell you not to sweat any piercing either of your children may get – they can all easily be closed up and never seen again. However, I would worry about tattoos 😉 Not so easy to get rid of those 🙂

  2. haha thank you- I have two tattoos and some piercings, so it’s really quite hypocritical of me to forbid my children having them I suppose =)

Leave a Reply

