Vacation, All I Ever Wanted!

We are going on vacation in 48 hours. Sort of. It’s funny to me that “vacation” for us is not at all like the vacations I remember as a kid.

Let me explain. As I’ve said before on this blog, we live 3,000 miles away from all of our family. So, we travel. A lot. I’ve lost count as to how many times A has flown on a plane, and she’s not even 3 and a half. The baby took her first flight when she was three weeks old. Having to travel is just a part of our lives. This is so different from the way I grew up. I lived on the same street as my grandparents, and three sets of aunts and uncles. The same street. The rest of my extended family lived within 45 minutes of us. I saw them all the time. So, we didn’t have to travel, except when it was time to take a vacation. That meant months of planning and reservations and logistics. And we did this once a year, maybe. It was a big deal. It was what most people think of when they think of family vacations.  It’s what they make movies about.

So why did I put vacation in quotes in my first paragraph? Well, even though we’re headed to San Diego for a week (hooray!), we just so happen to have very close friends who live there. So we’re staying with them. I honestly can’t remember the last time we stayed in a hotel. We always stay with family or friends because we never travel anywhere that doesn’t involve seeing people we love. There aren’t enough days in the year to take a trip where it’s just the four of us on an actual vacation. Like I said, we live so far from all those we hold dear, we have to combine our “vacations” with visiting folks. It’s just an excellent coincidence that one of my best friends lives in such an awesome place! (And to think they want to ruin EVERYTHING and leave San Diego eventually 😉  A can’t wait to “feed the sea lions at Sea World, go to the beach and go to the zoo!”  

And, even if we did decide to take an actual vacation somewhere where we know no one and would have to stay in a hotel (say, Hawaii…although, I do have a friend there so…say, Barbados) then we would most definitely invite our friends and family to join us.  We can’t use the precious little time my husband has away from his job to not see any of our loved ones.  It just wouldn’t seem “right” somehow.
 
So, there you have it.  We don’t take vacations like I did when I was a child, or like so many other people do, because they get to see their families whenever they damn well please.  Do I wish we could go on a vacation with just the four of us?  A little.  But not as much as I want to spend time with our family and friends.  Now the trick is to get more of them to either move to the PNW with us, or to have them relocate to someplace like Barbados so I can go on “vacation” and stay with them!
 
Happy Spring Break to all of you!
3 thoughts on “Vacation, All I Ever Wanted!

  1. good luck and have fun! You are inspiring me to try to travel more. I get so incredibly stressed out with traveling and our families don’t live close by either. My parents are trying to convince me to travel to china with the kids…. eek!!

  2. China is a totally different ball game! It’s bad enough criss crossing the country and having to make at least one stop and the three hour time change. China sounds crazy to even me!

Leave a Reply

