Making Lemonade

It’s a bad thing when you’re on vacation and the staff at the urgent care center recognizes you upon arrival, right?

What can I say?  This has been quite the vacation so far!  We were supposed to wake up at 4am on Wednesday to make our plane and, instead, A got things off on the right track by waking up at 3:30am, coming into our room, and saying (the dreaded words) “I don’t feel good.”  She didn’t look good either.  My immediate diagnosis was that she had pink eye.  And she also had a hacking cough.  Hoo-freaking-ray!  What to do, what to do?  Cancel vacation?  Take a visibily sick child on a plane?  The choices were so vast and appealing!  I figured they had doctors in San Diego and she wouldn’t even be able to see our doctor until after 8am, which was when our plane was landing, so we headed to the airport.
The very first thing we did in San Diego was go to urgent care.  I was right.  She had pink eye.  Apparently the cough wasn’t to be worried about (which seemed odd to me) and so she got a prescription for eye drops and we went on our way.  That night was the single worst night of my life as a mom.  We are all staying in one room together and A was hacking up a lung every 15 minutes or so.  So just as I would be able to calm and soothe the baby and get her to sleep, she would be woken up by her sister.  This went on and on and on.  Hours and hours and hours.  Remember that I had gotten up at 3:30am the day before?  Well, I was approaching being awake for 24 hours straight and I literally couldn’t handle it.  Thankfully my friend is family to me, so I went upstairs and handed her the baby.
Unfortunately, A didn’t get any better.  Her cough persisted, she had 48 hours of a temperature, and she started complaining about ear pain.  Hoo-freaking-ray again!  Back to urgent care we went.  This time they diagnosed her with an ear infection and “probably” strep throat (they said it wasn’t worth swabbing her throat because she was going on an antibiotic regardless).  The amount of guilt I felt knowing that we had dragged her through Sea World the day before was palpable.  Were we terrible parents?  What are you supposed to do when you’re on vacation and your child is sick?  You’ve spent all this money and made all these plans (we bought the Sea World tickets ahead of time).  Are you supposed to just stay in your hotel (or in our case, house)?  Should we not have gone in the first place?  I feel like there are no good answers to these questions.
Now that A is on the antibiotics, she’s definitely getting better, however her mood has been quite sour the entire time we’ve been here.  It has definitely not been the vacation you dream about where your child runs through the amusement park with a look of total and utter glee on their face.  We’ve been trying to make the best of it and have as much fun as we can muster.  Gotta make lemonade out of lemons, right?
(Very hilarious – to me at least – side note: I saw the doctor we had both times we were at urgent care at a gay bar on Saturday night!)
If anyone has ever had to be on vacation with one (or more) sick kids, I can now sympathize and I feel so terribly sorry for you.  It sucks, no matter which way you slice it.  The up side is that we have three more days to spend here and I plan to make the best of them!

 

2 thoughts on “Making Lemonade

Leave a Reply

