436 Questions

I saw something on Facebook recently that said “Did you know that the average 4 year old asks 436 questions a day?”

It made me wonder how many questions the average three year old asks per day, because it seems like the answer is 4 million.

My three year old – A – happens to ask questions about the most difficult topics possible.  Her two favorites recently are death and human anatomy.

“When am I going to die?  When are you going to die?  Is Meema going to die before me?  Am I going to die before you?  How do we know when we’re going to die?”

Those are all super fun to answer, as you can imagine, and she doesn’t seem to be happy with my answers either.  Especially because the answer to all those questions is “I don’t know, sweetie.  No one knows.”  She gets very frustrated with me because she obviously wants a clear answer, when there is none.

And then there’s the ones on human anatomy.  I will tell you now, that if you don’t like hearing about vaginas and periods, you should stop reading here.

As I have blogged about before, I am a SAHM and I have no privacy.  My youngest daughter can’t yet be left alone in the house so I still bring her into the bathroom with me and, of course, A insists on coming too.  So, at the ripe old age of three, she knows that occasionally I get my period and that blood is involved and that I use tampons.  She knows that the blood comes out of the vagina and that the tampon is used to catch the blood.  (I told you to stop reading!)

I’m not sure how else to approach this topic with her, except to tell her the truth.  She can see that there’s blood.  She asks me questions about it and I’m not going to lie to her.

We went to the library on Saturday and she said (loudly) in the public rest room, “Mama, you’re a big girl and so you have black hair on your vagina and you have to change your tampon now because there’s blood on it.”  Fabulous.  Everyone else in the rest room could clearly hear her and she kept repeating it over and over.  She also kept saying “When I’m a big girl I will have hair on my vagina and I will get to use tampons.”

Yup.  You will.

It’s so tough knowing how to answer all the questions of a three year old.  I have decided that I’m just going to be honest.  Even about topics I would rather not be talking about with her.  Isn’t parenthood fun?

3 thoughts on “436 Questions

  1. I can totally relate to the bathroom scene! My 3 year old was with me in a crowded public bathroom one day when I got my period unexpectedly. She kept repeating “Mommy there’s blood on the toilet paper. Did you pee blood? Did you poop blood?” Oh boy!

  2. that is HILARIOUS! I will die of embarrassment. BTW Lemon Cake knows about period also since he comes into bathroom with me often haha

Leave a Reply

