Time to do the Laundry

Seriously, people, can we talk about laundry?  I don’t know if I’m a total crybaby wimp when it comes to housework or what, but I truly cannot comprehend how people are getting their laundry done.  As I’m washing dishes, sanitizing pumping equipment, bleaching toys, cleaning up after an old, sheddy, smelly dog and caring for two children (one who is just beginning to eat) I feel OK, even sometimes good about the way I can juggle those things (alright, sometimes also really bad, chaotic and disorganized and we all give up and watch Tangled for the 400th time instead).  But laundry?!?  WTF?  I am most displeased with a task that cannot get done and not only can my laundry not get done but even when I’m on top of it every single laundry basket is full – one in downstairs bathroom, one in the upstairs bathroom, two in my bedroom (which, who are we kidding is really Little Miss Jr.’s bedroom), one in the girls’ room and LMJ has her own bag that I keep by her downstairs changing table.  That is 6 laundry baskets, people.  That is ridiculous.  Not to mention dish towels, potholders, bouncy seats, activity mats, blankets and the dog bed.  I mean really, WTF?

I remember my mother, working full time, devoted one full weekend day to laundry but I don’t know how she did it.  I think even if I decided one day, from dawn to dusk, I was going to do and fold all the laundry in the house it still wouldn’t happen.  And besides, screw that.  I’m not dedicating one of my precious non-Hubby work days to laundry.  Maybe it is because LMJ “spits-up” (code for vomits) 4-8,000 times after every meal.  Maybe it’s because Little Miss doesn’t consider it a meal unless it ends up in her hair, all over her face, and yes, all over her clothes as well.  Or, because she paints using not just a brush, not just her fingers but her entire body including her hair, face and yes, her clothes as well.  Maybe it is because I am a laundry wimp but any way I look at it, I just can’t understand how you are getting your laundry done people.  Please help me.  Now that I’m done writing this, I’m going to go switch the laundry out…

Leave a Reply

