Buying a House, Take 2

Our offer was accepted on another home yesterday.  If you haven’t been paying attention, the last house we tried to buy fell through, so we have been combing the market for something else.  We found this particular house on Friday (the day it came on the market), saw it Saturday morning, and had our offer accepted yesterday afternoon.

We love the location of this home because it is 0.8 miles from the Beaverton farmer’s market/library, 5 blocks from Beaverton High School, and exactly 1.0 miles from the Beaverton transit center (a major hub for MAX trains into Portland).  It is a much older home (hard to find here) from the 1940’s and has recently had an addition put on.  It also has a huge workshop in the backyard (which could potentially become a small mother-in-law apartment if it was insulated and finished).  There is no attached garage, but my husband is already planning the carport/covered walkway he wants to put in if this ends up becoming our home.

The elementary school assigned to this house isn’t great.  It’s not bad, it’s just middle of the road.  I was obsessing over this fact.  Literally.  I went to the school.  I read every single piece of information I could find online.  I called people.  I was trying to analyze it from every possible angle.  I came to the conclusion that we would either option school our kids, or it would become my “job” to volunteer in the school as much as possible and ensure that A and I were getting the education we wanted for them.  We’re confident that with us as parents, they will be successful nearly anywhere.

Then, last night, I caught a segment on 60 Minutes (http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=50147163n) that made me feel really stupid for just how much I was obsessing over the school.  It was about Afghan boys who have, over the past decade, fled their homeland in an effort to get into Europe.  The youngest child they interviewed was 9 when he embarked on this journey.  Yes, 9.  The boys are smuggled in refrigerated vans, crates, life boats, you name it.  It can be a 3,000 mile trek if they make it to Sweden (the only country to offer them asylum) and, the majority of them die along the way.  Those who don’t die are raped repeatedly by the smugglers that their families have paid $15K to for taking their sons out of Afghanistan.

I watched this in horror as I had my ipad open on my lap to all the research I was doing on the school.  I honestly started to laugh out loud at myself.  My girls are going to possibly (again, we might option school them) go to an “okay” school in a suburb of a major metropolitan city in the United States.  While they are (possibly) attending this “okay” school, their mother will be there on most days ensuring that they’re getting a good education, and both their parents will be reinforcing said education at home.  On the other side of the world, 9 year olds are refugees who are raped on a daily basis by the very people who are supposed to be helping them get to a better life.  (Not to mention the myriad of other unspeakable things that happen to children the world over.)

Perspective is such a wonderful thing.  I’m thankful that someone knew I needed to see that segment last night so I could get some.

Leave a Reply

