Cheerios

“I want to watch it again!  Can I please watch it again, Mommy?”

My three year old daughter has been obsessed with a certain video on YouTube for the past week.  I have watched her watch this video at least 50 times, and yet her reaction never fails to floor me.  She loves it.  It makes her so happy.  She is grinning from ear to ear every single time this clip plays on our iPad.

Want to know what it is?  Well, it’s the now infamous Cheerios commercial.  If you haven’t heard about it, let me fill you in.

Last weekend at some point I read a news story about how a new Cheerios commercial had been put up on YouTube and how it had received so many – thousands – racist comments that the company was forced to disable the comments section.  What?  Cheerios?  As in the Cheerios in my pantry that are a staple in our house…that were a staple for me growing up…the seemingly innocent as can be Cheerios?  They were getting THOUSANDS of racist comments?  What was this commercial like?  What was it about?  How could this be?

I was so confused.

Then I watched the 31 second long commercial:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYofm5d5Xdw

Then I got really freaking mad.

Seriously people?  That is about the cutest commercial I have ever seen, ever. Having a problem with that commercial is akin to having a problem with rainbows or ice cream.  Honestly?

So I let my 3.5 year old daughter watch it.  I wanted to see if she said anything about the mixed race family.  I was really curious as to what she would take away from it.  Well, she started laughing hysterically the first time she watched it.  She was laughing so hard that she could hardly speak.  When she did manage to get it together, she said “MOMMY!!!! (laugh, laugh) That little girl poured Cheerios all over her DADDY!!!!”  And then she busted out laughing again.  And then she watched it 20 more times.

What happens to some people between age 3.5 and adulthood that would make them comment on that commercial in such a way that the news agencies weren’t willing to say more than the fact that their comments were “disgusting?”  What goes awry in some people and how can we stop it?  Can we change this about the world?  I don’t want my daughter to grow up and realize that there are some hateful, terrible people out there.  I love the fact – LOVE – that she watched that and that she would never, ever even begin to think of questioning the fact that they are a family.  I’m so scared of her going to school and running into someone who might watch that same commercial over her shoulder and utter a racist remark.  I don’t want her to know just how horrible the world can be.

And I don’t understand it.  I literally don’t understand how anyone could say something derogatory about that commercial.  Whoever those people are, they must have a problem with love, because that’s all I see in that 31 second clip.  And, if there are thousands of people out there who have a problem with love, then wow…what can we do?  Have these people never known love?  How can we change the world so that this sort of thing doesn’t happen anymore?

I don’t really have a point I’m trying to make with this entry, I just wanted to share my thoughts with all our readers.  I will say that if you have a young child in your house, you should let them watch that commercial.  See what happens!

Leave a Reply

