Late thirties schmirties

Phew, just under the deadline for my Saturday blog post. I apologize for missing the past couple weeks, between a new house, new jobs, arranging daycare and just living the day to day life of a mother of a 20 month old, my “mommy brain” has kicked into high gear. Last week, I literally forgot, just absolutely, positively forgot to post. But alas, I’m back on track (for this week anyway!)

The good news is that this article has given me one less thing for my “mommy brain” to worry about! As a soon to be mid-30s mommy (I’ll be 33 next month and I feel like that launches me officially into the “mids”) with a soon to be 2 year old, my husband and I have started the conversation about when to expand our brood. I know that I’m not at the cut-off point for what would be considered a more high risk pregnancy, but this article gives great insight onto the research and the reality behind women, aging and having babies.

Disclosure: I know that parts of the article can get a bit technical in terms of collecting statistics and fertility, so if you’re a skim/skip to the end kind of person, you won’t be disappointed.

http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2013/07/how-long-can-you-wait-to-have-a-baby/309374/

Leave a Reply

