Motherhood Bliss

Parenthood comes with its fair share of lows – temper tantrums, sleeplessness, stubbornness, backtalk, etc.  I could go on for a long time about how each of these challenges can be enough to make me want to curl up in a ball in the corner and rock back and forth until sweet sweet bedtime finally rolls around.  But this post is not about the lows.  It’s about the highs.  (Please refer to my post on Patience if you care to hear more about the lows)

Being a mom to my daughter gives me so much joy.  There are moments pretty much every day, sometimes multiple times a day, that I refer to as Motherhood Bliss.  It’s those moments when I look at Kiki and feel so much love and joy in my heart that it makes me forget about all the lows.  They are the moments that make me feel genuinely blessed and ecstatically happy with my life.

We discovered swim belts at the Y which allow Kiki to swim on her own without us holding her.  With her new found independence, Kiki shouts, “I’M THE BEST SWIMMER IN THE WORLD!!!”  I love her confidence.

The belly laugh is the best thing ever.  Hubby can easily evoke the belly laugh with tickle fights and general Daddy silliness.  You cannot help but laugh yourself any time you hear Kiki’s belly laugh.

My daughter has the most adorable little bum ever.  Every night when she gets out of the bath I just want to squeeze it.

Listening to Kiki have a conversation with one of her friends is so entertaining.

When I witness the picturesque scene of my daughter in a sundress running across an open field on a sunny day with her blond hair blowing in the wind, I am struck by her beauty.  She is seriously beautiful.

If we’ve been out playing all day and are heading home, Kiki will sometimes say, “Mom, I’m pretty tired.  When we get home can you cuddle with me on the couch while we watch a little tv?”  Um, yes, I can do that.

Kiki is very into playing with her little figurine toys.  I love listening and watching as she does this.  Her imagination is fascinating.

At times when I am struck by her intelligence, her creativity, her athletic ability, or her problem-solving skills I can’t help but wonder what kinds of things she’ll be able to do with her life.

Sometimes while we are reading a story or watching tv, my daughter will rub my arm with her amazingly soft little fingers.  I swoon.

 
These are just a few examples of the wonderful moments that motherhood can provide.

Wishing you all some Motherhood Bliss in your day today.

3 thoughts on “Motherhood Bliss

  1. Great post! I have those feelings with Peanut and it literally is like my heart wants to burst! All I can do is reach over and give her a squeeze, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

