Grown Up Wishes

I wish I clipped coupons. My sister-in-law is crazy into coupons.  She’s one of those people that gets $150 worth of groceries for $1.22.  It totally seems like it would be my thing.  I am thrifty and I love a good deal.  But it’s way too much work.  My sister-in-law has a 5-inch binder full of coupons, scours coffee shops and recycling bins looking for extra newspapers, and talks incessantly about couponing.  I just can’t commit to that.

I wish I had the self-discipline to stop drinking sodas.  I know they’re bad for me.  I’ll cut back for a few days, maybe even a week.  And then I’m checking out at the grocery store right before lunch and I’m drawn to that bright green bottle in the refrigerator case like a moth to a flame.  So I’ll buy one and then I feel bad after I drink it.  Oh Mountain Dew, you’re a cruel mistress.

I wish I would get my act together and have a yard sale instead of just continuing to fill up my basement with things I don’t want and saying I should have a yard sale.

I wish I could keep my car cleaner.  It’s full of coloring pages, odd socks, and empty snack containers.  And the floors are covered in sand, dirt, and playground wood chips.  I read an article the other day about how important it is to keep your car clean to avoid flying objects during a crash.  It even had a personal story about a woman whose 2 year-old son basically scalped when his soft-spouted sippy cup flew at his head when they were in an accident.  Yikes!  I thought that article would motivate me to clean my car out, but it hasn’t.

I wish I could keep my photo sharing website up-to-date.  When Kiki was a baby I posted new pictures every week and my friends and family really loved them.  Then I got an iPhone.  Now I take so many pictures of my daughter that it is impossible for me to keep on top of sharing the pictures.  I’m still uploading pictures from February.  I’m constantly suffering from photo-sharing stress.

I wish I had never let my daughter play with my iPhone.  It’s useful when we’re stuck in traffic or when she’s restless at a restaurant.  But now I have to keep my phone out of her sight because if she sees it, she clamors to get it so she can play Dots.  Have you played that game?  It’s addictive for young and old.

I wish I was one of those people who could say, “Yeah, I guess I just don’t really have a sweet tooth”.  How do you not have a sweet tooth?

I wish office co-pays were all you had to pay for the doctor.  When I was in high school, and even in college, I thought that was the case.  I remember my mom sending me to the doctor and reminding me pay my $15 co-pay when I left.  And I thought, wow insurance is great.  $15 for the doctor isn’t too bad.  And then I became solely responsible for my medical bills.  Deductibles, out-of-pocket maximums, and member responsibility – what the…?  I thought it cost $15 to go to the doctor.

What do you wish?

5 thoughts on “Grown Up Wishes

  1. really enjoy this read! I have photo share stress also haha. Right now my iphone is at capacity so I can’t take any more pictures with it. I also wish I could and would clip coupons but I don’t. I wish I could one of these moms who jogs everywhere or is seriously committed to exercising =)

  2. I’m with you on a couple of these. Going back to the first, I simply don’t have the patience to clip coupons. I had a friend who was crazy for it and would save tons of $$. She was so proud of getting a good deal.

Leave a Reply

