I did not have three thousand pairs of shoes, I had one thousand and sixty.

I did not have three thousand pairs of shoes, I had one thousand and sixty.
Imelda Marcos

Like many women, shoes have been a source of enjoyment, discomfort, fun, and spending money. I’ve splurged on shoes, I’ve experimented on styles, I’ve suffered through long nights on heels, I’ve researched cobblers in new cities I move to, and I’ve perfected the tippy-toe walk on stones to protect delicate heels. Most of this happened before I moved to the burbs, started working from home and became a mom. But I’ve been known to dabble in shoe purchases even now that uggs and Nikes are the fanciest I get most days.

While my shoe interests are much more modest now, I should admit that they still have a significant amount of dedicated space in my closet and my mother in law did recently give me a present with the above quote on it. I thought I had evolved from the shoe-lover reputation but alas…it is all relative.

So with little Rose standing against everything and getting closer to taking that first step every day, I realize I need to get my head wrapped around the baby shoe world. I know all about the baby shoes that are just for looks – not function. I call them “ornamental shoes” and I didn’t get that into it….but I won’t lie, she has a few fur booties that fit this criteria. I couldn’t resist.

But she is crawling and standing now so shoes need to start getting serious people.

I remember the old timey shoes babies used to wear like these (so cute).

WhiteBabyShoe

But I think I remember someone mentioning at my baby shower that Robeez are the new baby shoes to get. Rose has a pair of these which are working out quite well, she barely notices them and they seem to stay on well. And her grandmother bought her some super cute moccasins which are great and cozy for the house.

But I still have questions. Does her baby shoe collection need to include sneakers, dress shoes (for formal occasions of course) and boots? Are there some brands that are the best value? Do you buy them slightly larger so they can grow into them? Do they have to match their outfit? I know these are pretty serious concerns, sorry to unload them on you on a Friday.

I should also mention that she has rather tiny little feet. She is 10 months old and her 6 month shoes are a tad big. Rest assured her feet are fully functioning but they are quite small. Hopefully that won’t hold her back from having the robust shoe collection she deserves. While shoes now have a more appropriate role in my life, I want to ensure I strike the right balance for baby Rose. When it comes to her, everything is critically important, especially what we put on her little tootsies.

MumsySus

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You’re on your own, and you know what you know. And you are the gal who’ll decide where to go.
Dr. Seuss

One thought on “I did not have three thousand pairs of shoes, I had one thousand and sixty.

  1. Bare feet are great, however the cooler, coldest and freezing months are approaching so I have a great idea—let’s go shopping for Rose and perhaps one of her first words will be “Shoes”!!! Yea! (Also she can learn her colors from ALL her shoes) love from the grandmama

Leave a Reply

