The Years Are Short

Tomorrow my “baby” turns four. The last four years have played out EXACTLY as that saying goes…the days are long, but the years are short.
Some parts of me desperately don’t want her to grow another year older, and other parts of me are thrilled for her. If you know her, you know how special she is. Maybe everyone feels this way about their children, but I truly believe she is bound for greatness. She somehow managed to get all the good parts of both myself and her father. She is ridiculously smart and has the memory of an elephant. She is giving and kind and supremely thoughtful. Her younger sister adores her and she is an amazing big sister. She is all I could ever ask for in a child.
I feel so blessed to get to spend my time with her. There really is no one else on earth I’d rather hang out with. I keep thinking that being a mom to this marvelous creature can’t get any better, and then it does. These have been the most fabulous four years of my life. She has let me see life in a way that I never thought was possible.
We’ve got chicken nuggets, tator tots and cake on the menu for dinner tomorrow night and then her “kid” party is on Friday! It’s a big week in our house.
Happy 4th birthday my love!
Leave a Reply

