Spotty the Curious Christmas Monkey

You know the Elf on the Shelf?  It’s crazy popular right now and it seems like everyone I know has one.  I used to get such a kick out of seeing people post pictures on facebook showcasing the creative places where they had hidden their Elf for their kids to find in the morning.  So I was super excited when my mom sent us our own Elf on the Shelf.  And then I read the book that comes with the Elf.

Have you read the book?  Well Hubby and I were totally creeped out by the concept of the Elf keeping a watchful eye on Kiki all day and then reporting every detail of her behavior to Santa each night.  You better keep on the straight and narrow, kid.  Your Christmas presents are on the line here.  We were not fans.

So I returned the Elf to Barnes and Nobles.  But I was sad that we didn’t get to do the whole “hide the elf” bit. I really liked that idea.

Hubby and I decided that we didn’t want to miss out on the fun, so we introduced Kiki to Spotty the Curious Christmas Monkey.  Spotty has been blessed with a bit of Christmas magic and every night when we go to sleep, Spotty comes to life and romps around our house getting into things.

Spotty starSilly Spotty climbed the Christmas tree.  Does he think he’s a star?

Spotty Memory

It must get a little boring waiting for everyone to wake up.  Spotty decided to entertain himself with a game of Memory.

Spotty Bookworn

Spotty was excited about library day.  He got into our library bag and did a little reading.

Spotty Repairman

Spotty got handy and fixed Kiki’s broken magic wand.  Kiki was a huge fan of this one.

Spotty Candy

Uh oh.  Spotty found the leftover Halloween Candy.

Spotty Sorry

Spotty felt bad about eating Kiki’s candy so he made her breakfast and a heartfelt apology card.

Spotty Science

Mad scientist Spotty busted out Kiki’s science kit.

As Kiki says every night before bed, “I wonder what Spotty will do tonight?”  Guess we’ll just have to wait and see.  🙂

Leave a comment