Happy New Year!

Hello blog world.  I’ve been gone for awhile and I apologize.  Lately, my days have been running together and, every time I think about blogging, it’s not Monday.  Then, when it is Monday, I never think of it.  I really should just save a post and put it up on my day, but, you know how it goes…

My parents are here visiting and so I find myself with some time to myself and it happens to be Monday!  They flew in VERY late on Christmas day and leave on the 2nd.

I can’t believe tomorrow is the last day in 2013.  I literally wrote 2012 on a check just last week!  I am a year behind, I guess!  I said this in my post about my daughter’s fourth birthday: the days are long, but the years are short.  This year has flown by for me.  We bought a house in July and so it seems that every spare second we have is dedicated to upgrading our “new” home.  Between that and all the normal chores and errands and classes and routines, I find very little down time anymore.

However, about three weeks ago, I started going to the gym from 5:30-6:30am every weekday morning.  Now that we moved we are literally a 2-3 minute drive to the gym and, since I’m usually up between 5:30 and 6am because my beautiful daughters don’t know the meaning of sleep, I figured I didn’t really have any excuses anymore.  I can go and come back with plenty of time for my husband to get on the road for work by 7:10am.  It really has been a win for everyone.  I feel better and really love having that time for myself.  The girls are blissfully unaware that I’m gone since they’re usually still asleep when I leave, and I don’t have to feel guilty about leaving them at the sub-par “daycare” that they have there.

It’s not an actual gym – just a workout room within the confines of our community’s recreation center – and so the daycare facilities leave much to be desired.  We tried them once and both my kids were crying after about 15 minutes.  The employees don’t speak English as their first language and all the other children there looked pretty miserable and had really runny noses and so it just wasn’t my cup of tea.  Hence, me going to the gym at 5:30 in the morning!

I guess this is my new year’s resolution…about a month early.  I can’t wait to see how crowded it is at 5:30am next week when everyone else in the world decides they need to start working out 😉  Are any of you making resolutions?  Care to share what they are?

Have a happy and safe new year!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. Going at 530 gets it out of the way for the day too! I’d go then if I could! Happy New Year. PS you can schedule posts very easily. So you can write whenever and schedule them to release at a certain time. Look where the publish button is. There is an edit function near Publish Now I think. You can choose your time and date. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

