What A Difference A Year Makes

I look back on 2013 and it has been a tale of peaks and valleys.  Dickens had it right many years ago, it was the best of times, it was the worst of times… it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair.  Yeah he got that right.  One year ago this time we were entering a dark winter.  Our newborn baby was not three months old when she started getting sick…. And then she got really sick.  And there were moments of despair.

Little Miss Junior is a tough soul though, and the Spring brought hope, which flourished with her health into the Summer.  As we enter the winter of 2014, I’m reminded of the dark places we were just one year ago, and I have newfound understanding of what to truly be thankful for during the holidays.  LMJ is healthy, and doing fantastic, and I give thanks.

2013 was a milestone year for our growing family.  Red and I had to shift gears into parenting multiple children.  We have had the pleasure of watching our first daughter, Little Miss, embrace sisterhood.  I’m proud of the sibling LM already is, and I’m excited for the sister that she’s going to be… her empathy is profound.

In the midst of family chaos, as Red is preparing for work, while LMJ tugs my pajamas, and Little Miss demands more cereal as the dog barks for her morning walk, I find joy.  We have built a family…  A family of our making.  An often chaotic family of chattering emotional beautiful caring women, and one overgrown board gaming man-child with a disturbing volume of grey in his beard.

In 2013 I turned 40.  I’m not yet an old man, but I’m certainly not a young one anymore.  I think about my life with Red after the girls are grown, and I can see that future.  This past year has taught me many lessons.  I have learned about strength, I have learned about friendship, and I have learned about family.  For the family that I have, old and new, I give thanks.

Happy New Years

2 thoughts on “What A Difference A Year Makes

  1. As Moms’ Mom, and Kiki’s Nana, I have enjoyed the adventures you and Reds have experienced. I have laughed and cried, and prayed, for your children and for you. And I applaud your efforts, and your honesty, and your love for your family! Happy New Year!!!!

Leave a Reply

