It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

There are lots of things I love the Christmas season – Christmas carols, pretty decorations, presents, church, extended family, excitement.  Picking my absolute favorite thing about the Christmas season is easy though.  It’s all the time my husband gets to take off of work.

We are very, very lucky because Hubby has ended up taking off almost 3 weeks from work.  I’m not really sure how he swung this, but I’m not asking questions.  Hopefully he hasn’t actually lost his job and is waiting until Monday to tell me.

The first part of his time off was spent on our trip to The South to see all of our family.  Hubby and I are from the same state, so we split our time between my family and his.  Fly into one town, spend 4 days with his family, drive to another town, spend 4 days with my family, and fly home from there.  We get spend lots of quality time with our family, which is great….and exhausting.  By the end of our trip we were very ready to get on the plane and come back home.  (No offense, Nana!)

Once we got home and unpacked we revelled in the quiet of our home.  Then I started getting all excited when I realized that Hubby didn’t have to go right back to work.  In fact, he didn’t have to go back to work for a week and a half!

We have had such a great time together.  Almost every morning has been lazy – the kind where Kiki climbs into bed with us and we all cuddle and talk and giggle.  We worked together to take down our Christmas decorations.  We’ve eaten every meal together.  We’ve had whole days that we’ve stayed in our pjs and days when we’ve been running errands all over town.  One day Hubby and Kiki played in the snow while I cleaned the kitchen and prepared hot chocolate for everyone. This weekend we’re taking a day trip to go skiing.  We’ve played with all of Kiki’s new toys.  We’ve watched tons of movies and we’ve played about 25 rounds of Sequence for Kids (Kiki’s new favorite board game).

It’s been blissfully relaxing and enjoyable.

Monday is going to be rough for all of us when Hubby has to go back to work.  We’ve been totally spoiled.  But I’m not going to think about Monday right now.  I’m going to think about the 4 days we have left of our family staycation.  Speaking of not wasting time, I’m going to wrap this up so I can spend some quality time with Hubby now that Kiki’s asleep.

Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

